Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

EndNote: Home

The EndNote LibGuide contains instructional information with links to resources.

About EndNote

EndNote is reference management software with features to:

  • Keep all your references and reference-related materials in a searchable personal library.
  • Synchronize your references between up to three of your personal computers,  (You must be the owner and user of all three computers.)
  • Set up a library sharing team and effortlessly collaborate with up to 100 co-authors and colleagues.
  • Cite your references in word processing documents to create formatted citations and bibliographies or independent reference lists.

Getting started

STEP 1Create your free EndNote account at LINK

Register for an EndNote account using your VinUni IDs.

After register, check your Vinuni email to activate your account (If you do not receive this email, please check your junk/spam folder.)

Using EndNote online in conjunction with EndNote on the desktop will allow you to access the contents of your EndNote library from any computer with an internet connection, sync references between computers and share your research with colleagues or friends.

STEP 2: Get EndNote download link and Product Key for installation.

 Fill in the Registration Form to register and receive the download link and the Product Key

STEP 3: Download and install EndNote

- Check email to access the link and download a suitable version (Sign in by VinUni accout)

- Install EndNote and type the Product Key

STEP 4: Start to use EndNote in your iPad, iPhone or computer

Open the EndNote, Click Library, Sync and sign in by your account in Step 1.

  1. Select File → New.

  2. Select where you want to save the library in your computer.

  3. Type the name of your new library

  4. Click the "Save" button​

When importing/attaching PDF files with generic names,  the PDF Handling function will automatically help you rename the them with your  designated naming convention .

  1. Click Preferences
  2. Select PDF Handling
  3. Decide the criteria you prefer

You can also uploade more full-text PDFs  to your added/imported citations (note: it will not work for every citation) if you set the preferences after installing Endnote.  You just need to do it once.

  1. Click Preferences tab in Endnote
  2. Go to Find Full Text
  3. Enter the following URL of VinUni library in the OpenURL Path field: https://vinuni.alma.exlibrisgroup.com/discovery/openurl?institution=84VINU_INST&vid=84VINU_INST:84VINU
  4. Enter the following URL in the URL field: https://vinuni.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/discovery/account?vid=84VINU_INST:84VINU&section=overview&lang=en

Useful tips from experts

  • You can create many EndNote libraries, but you can only sync and share one of them. 
  • Storing EndNote libraries in cloud-syncing folders or keeping read-write EndNote libraries on network drives or flash drives, will lead to an increased risk of library corruption. However, it is possible to put an EndNote library on a portable hard drive and use it with multiple computers.
  • Use the File > Compress Library command to make backups of your libraries.

How to cite in Word Document

1. Open your Word Document, select the EndNote 20 tab

2. Click on the Insert Citation button (the magnifying glass icon)

3. In the pop-up box, enter search terms to locate the reference - keywords, author, etc. and click Find

4. Select the correct reference from your search results

5. Click Insert to insert the citation - Click the small arrow on the Insert button to sellect different formats

*NOTE: The EndNote Library you're using must also be open

  1. Open your Word Document in your computer with Endnote already installed, select the "EndNote 20" tab

  2. Click on the "Edit & Manage Citation(s)" button

  3. Make the necessary changes

  4. Click "OK" button

*NOTE: The EndNote Library you're using must also be open

Eg. Use "Formating" menu to edit the appearance of the in-text citations 

You can make stylistic changes to your bibliography, such as spacing, indentation or font by following the steps bellows. 

 

  1. Open your Word Document, select the "EndNote 20" ribbon

  2. Open up the "Configure Bibliography" command pop-up window by clicking on the small arrow at the bottom of the "Bibliography" section

  3. Use the "Format Bibliography" tab  to change the citation style for the entire paper

  4. Use the "Layout" tab to edit the font and spacing for the bibliography, as well as to insert a title for the bibliography

  5. Click the "OK" tab

*NOTE: The EndNote Library you're using must also be open

Source : https://clarivate.libguides.com/endnote_training/home