Open knowledge scholarship: Open Resources

Open Textbooks

Open Library

• Ontario’s OER repository

BCCampus OpenED

• Canada’s first major OER repository

Rebus Projects

• Platform for OER textbook projects.
• Recommended read: Modifying an Open Textbook: What you need to know

JSTOR

• More than 6,000 Open Access Ebooks from 75+ publishers, including Brill, Cornell University Press, De Gruyter, and University of California Press. Includes Area Studies, history, humanities, and social science

OERCommons

• Over 50,000 curated OER content from academic, government, non-profit and research organizations

Open Textbook Library

• One of the largest open textbook repositories operated by University of Minnesota. Search over 709 textbooks including education, humanities, social sciences

OASIS

• OER search tool developed by SUNY Library. Searches OER content from 97 different sources

Openstax

• Peer-reviewed textbooks with instructor and student resources. This includes LMS course integration, lecture slides

OpenSUNY Textbooks

• Established by State University of New York. Offers high-quality, cost-effective course resources by engaging faculty as authors and peer-reviewers. Includes arts, education, English, health, information technology, mathematics, and sciences

OAPEN

• Open access publishing in European Networks.
• Contains academic books, mainly in humanities and social sciences.

Athabasca University Press

• Athabasca University is commited to making research and scholarship freely accessible through the publication of books and journals in open access.  Includes Canadian Studies, education, health, history, psychology.

NCBI Bookshelf

• Bookshelf by the National Centre for Biotechnology Information with free online books and documents in life science and healthcare.

Free Electrical Engineering Textbook Initiative

• A free textbook initiative for engineering courses spearheaded by University of Michigan, UC-Berkeley and The University of Utah.

Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB)

• A platform for discovering open access Ebooks

Open Library

• An open, editable library catalog, building towards a web page for every book ever published.

Project Gutenberg

• First and largest single collection of free electronic books, or eBooks.

HathiTrust Digital Library

• A collection of 17 million digital items in the public domain

National Science Digital Library (NSDL)

• High quality online educational resources for teaching and learning, with current emphasis on the sciences, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) disciplines.

LibreTexts

• Covers a variety of subjects: biology, business, chemistry, engineering, geosciences, humanities, mathematics, medicine, physics, social sciences, statistics
• More than just textbooks: visualizations, simulations, embedded executable source code, etc.

PHET – Interactive Simulations for Science and Math

• Gamified and interactive math and science simulations to engage students.
• Covers physics, biology, chemistry, earth science, and math.

LearnChemE

• Contains hundreds of interactive simulations, interactive self-study modules, and videos on the topic of chemical and biological engineering.

SOFA – Simulation Open Framework Architecture

• open-source framework dedicated to research, prototyping and developing physics-based simulations, with an emphasis on medical simulations.

Project Jupyter

• Open-source, open-standards project that supports interactive data science and scientific computing across all programming languages

John Hopkins School of Public Health (JHSPH) OpenCourseWare

• Offers over 90 courses from the John Hopkins University (Bloomberg School of Public Health), complete with lectures and course material.

MasonOER Metafinder

• A federated search tool and searches several OER repositories simultaneously.

OASIS (Openly available sources integrated search)

• A search tool for finding OER contents from 97 sources and contains over 386,000 records.

MERLOT (Multimedia Educational Resource for Learning and Online Teaching)

• A curated collection of Open Educational Resources, including textbooks and content creation tools.

MIT Open Courseware

• A huge open collection of MIT’s course content.  Includes material from 2260 courses across all disciplines available.

OERu

• Offers free online courses for students developed by recognized universities and colleges. 

OER Commons

• A large repository for Open Educational Resources, including activities, assessments, lecture notes, and lesson plans.

Open Waterloo

• A collection of open online resources for learning and knowledge creation/dissemination at the University of Waterloo, including courseware on arts, engineering, environment, Math and Science

Computer Aids for Chemical Engineering (CACHE) teaching resources

• Include syllabi, schedules, computer-aided tools, interactive simulations, screencasts, concept questions, textbook information, and useful links.

General Statistics Office of Vietnam

• Statistic and data of Vietnam

World Bank Open Data

• Free and open access to global development data

Eurostat

• Publications and statistics from the EU, with data in economics, population, agriculture, trade, transportation, and the environment.

Data.gov

• U.S. federal data with links to U.S. states, cities and counties with web sites that provide open data

UN data

• A web-based data service for the global user community

EU Open Data Portal

• A portal housing a variety of open data across EU policy domains, including the economy, employment, science, environment, and education

Google Public Data Explorer

• Public interest data sets that you can explore using Google’s data tools

Open Data Canada

• Government of Canada’s open data sets, covering demographic, financial, map data, and more

ICPSR

• Microdata, opinion polls, Largely U.S., but some Canadian and international

OECD

• a unique forum and knowledge hub for global data and analysis.

ODESI

• Statistics Canada microdata files, opinion polls

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)

• Indexes and provides access to quality open access, peer-reviewed journals.

BioOne

• A database of more than 200 subscribed and open-access titles in the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences

BioLine

• Not-for-profit scholarly publishing cooperative committed to providing open access to quality research journals published in developing countries